top of page

Leadership

Baldrshof District map

Baldrshof District encompasses Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota,

Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin,

Manitoba, Nunavut, Saskatchewan.

What is a Hof District?

A Hof district is the state assigned to a specific Hof.  On the map to the left, you will see a portion covered in blue.  These are the states that are within Baldrshof District.

Within each district, we have Folkbuilders and our Gothar.  These are the people you would reach out to for inquiries on what is going on within your district as well as inquiries about membership with the Asatru Folk Assembly.

Below you will find our leadership within Baldrshof District and how you can contact them.

Leadership of Baldrshof banner

Click on Our Photos for More Info!

Click on Our Photos for More Info!

Alsherjargoði

The mission of our Leadership is to rally the Men and Women of our Folk, the Sons and Daughters of Europe in Midgard, to come together for our common spirituality and purpose. We do so in a manner that is confident and noble. The Asatru Folk Assembly is constantly evolving while maintaining continuity in leadership.

One of the most significant moments in Asatru Folk Assembly history was the passing of the duties and responsibilities of Alsherjargothi from Stephen McNallen to Matthew Flavel. The role of Alsherjargothi, Old Norse for “Chieftain of All the People,” demands leading those who make up the Asatru Folk Assembly as well as tending to the spiritual needs of our Folk and looking out for their interests.

mattflavel.png

Alsherjargothi Matthew Flavel
Nevada

Mattflavel@runestone.org

Goðar

Goðar of the Asatru Folk Assembly the religious leaders of our Folk. The position of Gothi or Gythia is one of leadership and service to our church. They inherently bear many responsibilities, such as leading marriage ceremonies, funerary rites, naming ceremonies, land takings, coming of age rites, and other rituals for our community.  The Goðar also organize Asatru Folk Assembly and community events, assist with the formation of new kindreds, provide counseling services, and educate those not familiar with our tradition. The Goðar often engages in many other forms of public service that are generally expected of Clergy in this day and age. This is not an easy responsibility, but it is an honorable path. All Asatru Folk Assembly Goðar, recognized as Ordained Clergy, carry weight in most states and regions, having legal rights and legal recognition for ceremonies performed and services rendered to their community due to the direct support and association with the AFA, which is a religious, non-profit organization.

bcallahan.png

Witan Brandy Fassett

Minnesota / North Dakota

Bfassett@runestone.org

IMG_6589.jpeg

Gothi Nathan Erlandson

Minnesota

Nerlandson@runestone.org

rstamm.png

Gothi Rob Stamm

Iowa

Rstamm@runestone.org

Folkbuilders

In the AFA, our greatest priority is our members’ needs. We go to great lengths to ensure that we are not just an online phenomenon where all our leaders are on the other side of the country. We prioritize REAL LIFE interaction between our membership and our leaders and ultimately our greatest goal is building REAL LIFE Folkish communities of like-minded people, honoring our Gods, and building our Folk. Folk builders are the face of the Asatru Folk Assembly in the different regions of the world and the local leadership of these communities. These men and women have stepped up to make a difference and not only do the tasks people see, like throwing events and interacting with membership but also are busy behind the scenes doing things like membership, online management, and helping shape the AFA.

jgallagher.png

Folkbuilder Jason Gallagher

Minnesota

Jgallagher@runestone.org

Folkbuilder Ashley McStocker

Folkbuilder Ashley McStocker

Minnesota

Amcstocker@runestone.org

Folkbuilder Sara Ault

Folkbuilder Sara Ault

Wisconsin

Sault@runestone.org

Folkbuilder Jessie Shaffer

Folkbuilder Jessie Shaffer

Minnesota

Jshaffer@runestone.org

cclausen.png

Folkbuilder Cody Clausen

Nebraska

Cclausen@runestone.org

Apprentice Allison Ali Clausen

Folkbuilder Allison Clausen

Nebraska

Aclausen@runestone.org

bperron.png

Folkbuilder Bruce Perron

Wisconsin

Bperron@runestone.org

cmcdowell.jpg

Folkbuilder Chris McDowell

Iowa

Cmcdowell@runestone.org

hwhite.png

Apprentice Hope White

Illinois

Hwhite@runestone.org

ccrawford.jpg

Apprentice Coke Crawford

Kansas

Ccrawford@runestone.org

tbowdish.jpeg

Apprentice Travis Bowdish

Nebraska

Tbowdish@ruenstone.org

bottom of page